PNR Status

This is a word that keeps haunting many – as the people are unaware about the fact that – what exactly does this PNR stands for. And to clear all the confusions, we have put forth the details related to the PNR status that is in turn related to the Indian Railways.

Before we go ahead with the PNR Inquiry, let us know a little about PNR Number.

What is PNR Number?

The Passenger Name Record or as it is popularly known as PNR – is basically used to know the plan or the itinerary of the passenger. Furthermore, this PNR Number does not change throughout the journey. It also helps the Railway Authorities to check on the whereabouts of the passengers.

Sponsored Links:

Where Is The PNR Number?

One can find the PNR Number on the top left corner of the railway (reserved) ticket. Moreover, as per the Indian Railways or the IRCTC rules, it is a 10 – digit number. This number is always printed on the ticket – let it then either be booked at the IRCTC website or the reservation counter.

If the ticket is reserved online then an individual will also receive the PNR Number through an SMS.

Why Is PNR Number Useful?

Passenger Name Record or the PNR is useful as – one can check the following –

  • Train number
  • Train name
  • Date of journey
  • Departure time
  • Arrival time
  • Current status – whether it is confirmed or waiting
  • Seat number
  • Seat berth
  • Age
  • Coach number etc etc

Note: One does not have to take an electronic ticket all the while as the PNR Number is usually accepted but it is advised to all that they carry a printed copy so that are ready to face any untoward incident.

Let us now check the ways to check the PNR Status –

Check the PNR Status

The following steps will guide you to check the PNR Status –

  1. Firstly, the passengers can send an SMS to any of the numbers given below to check the Status of the PNR –
  • IRPNR<10 digit PNR Number> to 57886
  • PNR<10 digit PNR Number> to 5676747
  • PNR<10 digit PNR Number> to 139 or
  • PNR<10 digit PNR Number> to 54959
  1. Secondly, the passengers may also dial 139 to speak to the operator and get to know the PNR Status.

PNR – It’s Importance

An individual can check the status of the ticket – whether the ticket is still in waitlist or RAC or Seat Allotted. In addition to this, if one loses the ticket then the PNR Number comes to your help provided – you have written down the PNR Number.

Therefore, the next time – you have a railway ticket with do not be confused or worried as to what is this PNR!

PNR Status Codes

When one enquires about the PNR Status, one is sure to come across any of the following status codes. So, rather than being puzzled about it, you can read on to understand and gain knowledge on the train reservation status or as we call it – PNR Status

  1. CNF: When you come across this status, understand that your seat has been confirmed and you can travel minus those troubles as CNF stands for ‘Confirmed’.  Furthermore passengers are given seat and the coach number as well. If at all one is unable to get these two then you can get them at the station. However this case does not happen all the while.
  1. CAN/ MOD : It means that the ticket has been cancelled either by the passenger or as the seats are no more available.
  1. CK: When tickets are booked and confirmed in Tatkal then words – CK will be printed on the ticket. As per the rules, Tatkal tickets will be issued 24 hours prior to the departure of the train but one has to pay a little extra amount to get the ticket.
  1. CKWL: If the Taktal ticket is in Waiting List then CKWL is written on it. And when confirmed, the passengers get confirmed coach as well as seat number.
  1. RAC:Reservation Against Cancellation is the full form of RAC which means that they will have to share the berth with another passenger till they get a confirmed seat.
  1. WL: When the seats have not been confirmed then the ticket is shown in the Waiting List category. There are chances that the ticket might be either Confirmed or go in to the RAC slot.
  1. PQWL: PQWL stands for Pooled Quota Wait List – it means that – the ticket is booked under any railway quota and is in waiting list.
  1. GNWL: General Waiting List or GNWL means that the passenger starts the journey either from the origin station or stations close to the originating station. Plus point of having this ticket is that – the ticket has higher chances of being confirmed.
  1. REGRET? WL:  REGRET/WL stands for Bookings Over and Further Bookings Are Not Allowed. One sees this message at the time of booking itself.

Hence, the next time you come across PNR Number, you know what the meaning of those abbreviations is.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *